Testimonials

   

Certified reviews by Eastravel clients about their trips and the experience of a tailor-made Eastravel trip.
 

Amazing China

“Our trip to China was to be our retirement holiday of a lifetime so we wanted 2 – 3 weeks that would truly immerse us in the culture and history of the Country and its people. Planning started 18 months in advance but none of the brochures from the specialist companies offered quite what we wanted so we started to wonder if we could afford a bespoke service on our budget. We contacted Eastravel knowing that they specialise in Asia but not really believing that we could get a one to one tour for what we could afford. However, Dorothy Heng totally understood what we wanted to achieve and arranged the perfect experience for us. When we ‘discovered’ Zhangjiajie less than four months before we were due to fly and wanted to rearrange half of our tour, Dorothy took this in her stride, cancelling and rebooking hotels and all of the other arrangements. A tour guide met us at every location and each one spoke good to excellent English. We had a complete range of hotels, as requested, from a new five star hotel to a 200 year old charismatic, traditional hotel in the Beijing Hutongs with a rural, boutique hotel converted from traditional farm buildings on the way.

Rating for tour operator:
We cannot recommend Eastravel highly enough. We are a discerning couple who know what we want and Eastravel delivered this in spades. I would not hesitate to use their quality service again.”  Suffolkpigpen

Singapore/Bali/Hong Kong extravaganza

“Our holiday began with an overnight flight to Singapore, arriving late afternoon and transferring to the Marina Mandarin, an hotel we have used on previous occasions and deem excellent. After 4 nights of meeting up with friends and seeing new things, we flew to Bali for a 13 night stay, the first 3 nights at the Maya, Ubud and 10 nights at the Nusa Dua Resort. Bali was fabulous. Both locations were superb and the staff at the resorts were fantastic. We thoroughly recommend them as well as our tour guide from Destination Asia who provided transfers and a guided tour of Ubud and it’s surrounding area. After Bali, we flew to Hong Kong arriving at the Harbour Grand Hotel late at night. As in Singapore, we met with friends and explored the island of Hong Kong. This was my first visit and as such I wanted to explore as much as possible. My wife had traveled to HK as a child and wished to rekindle her distant memories of the place. Needless to say, in the short time we were there we covered a lot of ground. Overall this holiday was one to remember, from the serenity and beautiful people of Bali to the hustle and bustle of Singapore and Hong Kong. Saving like crazy for our next venture.

Rating for tour operator:
We have been using Eastravel for almost 20 years, since being introduced to them by my wife’s parents. I have never had any problems with the company and have always found them to be superb at suggesting itineraries and locations. They are extremely friendly and quickly get a feel for what you want out of a holiday. When I choose my next Far Eastern adventure it will, without a shadow of any doubt, be with Eastravel. Dorothy, Cathy and the rest of the team are like old family friends.”  by Stevie G

Borneo and Maldives Family Wildlife Holiday

“Eastravel organised a bespoke holiday visiting the Sabah region of Borneo for 10 days and a 4 day stopover in the Maldives on the way home. The holiday catered for our interest in wildlife and conservation with some slightly more adventurous activities included for the 2 teenage members of the family. We visited an Orangutan and Sun bear sanctuary, stayed in a remote rainforest lodge and saw wild orangutan, monkeys, flying squirrels, lizards, snakes, bats, crocodiles and exotic birds; visited mount Kota Kinabalu, learned about WW2 in Borneo, helped with some conservation in the marine park and had some excellent snorkelling in the Maldives. All the activities and transfers went as planned, the local teams were always on time and very polite and helpful and the guides for the tours, nature walks and rafting were very professional and interesting and did their best to find the wildlife or explain about the plants, people, history or region. A great holiday and lots of good memories from our visit to these two very nice countries.

Rating for tour operator:
Eastravel were very helpful in planning and customising our holiday. They were very prompt in responding to any questions; the information, documents and even an app were very clear and professional. Dorothy was very helpful when unfortunate World events meant we had to change most of the initial holiday plans, and she was even in contact during the holiday checking everything was going according to plan and assisting when our luggage got delayed. We would highly recommend the service as it covered everything from the initial queries to checking we were safely back home. We wouldn’t hesitate to use Eastravel next time we holiday in Asia.”  by Johnson Family

Amazing Indonesian Honeymoon

“Our trip was from the 23/10/19 to the 17/10/19. We flew from London to Denpasar Bali via KL with Malaysian Airlines. The flights were on time and as comfortable as it gets in economy. The timings worked really well and we slept as much as is possible. We had a few meals on the flights which I found to be nice (I had the more traditional style dishes) but my wife didn't like some of the options and therefore had to go without. All our transfers were via EXO Travel Indonesia who were brilliant (we had the same driver and guide the whole time and they were lovely people who told us about the different regions, events etc. we passed). Our speed boat transfer was with Blue Water Safari which was quick and efficient. We spend the first part of our trip in Ubud, Bali. The Komaneka Bisma is a beautiful hotel with great suites and a nice atmosphere. It's really close to the monkey forest in Ubud as well as cheaper and tastier Warungs along the slightly back road it occupies. The pool and grounds were lovely. Absolutely could not fault this hotel and it's staff, would highly recommend it and we were sad to leave. We then transferred to Karma Reef resort on Gili Meno via Padang Bai. The Karma Reef location is great as it's right on the beach and next to the arrival point (our transfer was to Gili T and the hotel boat picked us up from there). The resort is on the East of the island facing Gili Air and you can snorkel right off the beach. They also put on a band and cinema on the beach which we really enjoyed. The staff once again were great. We stayed in a beach tent which was fun but a little dark and noisy. The sounds really travel on the islands and we were disturbed by the music from the other islands and the mosque call to prayer until we got accustomed to it. The resort has paddle boards to use. We also took a boat trip with one of the local guides from a warung we ate at and saw the few different sites of interest for snorkelling around the island. Loads of good warungs to eat at. The lake wasn't particularly interesting and the dock wasn't safe to access and was barriered off. Walking to the different areas of the island was pretty easy. Lots of wild cats there but they are all friendly. The islands exterior looks pretty lovely but they haven't fully recovered from an earthquake and there is a lot of litter and fly tipping, more so within the interior of the island. Last place we visited was Plataran Menjangan. We had an ocean villa and the room was very nice and clean and comfortable. The loungers and plunge pool were a nice touch and we had monkeys and deer visit us. The key thing about this hotel is that it is completely isolated from anywhere else and takes a very long time to get to. Only one of the restaurants was operating during our visit and the food options were therefore very limited. A lot of the food didn't cater to our tastes and a lot of it was western which defeated the point we thought. We used one of the hotel kayaks and went over to the other side of the river on which the hotel sits. You can't really snorkel at this hotel as you can't swim unless it's from the pontoon. We didn't end up doing a trip to Menjangan island because we didn't feel the price justified the trip and they all included a meal of some kind which we didn't want. All in all an amazing trip with great people, beautiful views and perfect weather.

Rating for tour operator:
I had done some research into areas which we wanted to go on our honeymoon. Eastravel helped us to piece this together and gave us advice about how it would work logistically which really helped us to order things and get our durations correct. Everything went smoothly with the travel and accommodation and booking with them helped remove any stress from it. Thank you so much.”  by tommy2b

China Grand Tour

“Informative, exhausting, fascinating, overwhelming, exciting and fun all at the same time
Thanks to the team at Eastravel for organising such a fantastic trip. It was informative, exhausting, fascinating, overwhelming, exciting and fun all at the same time. Pretty much what we were hoping for! Everything went to plan and was extremely well-organised. We particularly loved Pingyao, Guilin, Huangshan and Hangzhou. Our memories include: our introduction to Pingyao by mad golf cart ride; listening to Chinese music at night next to the lake in Guilin; walking on the inside of paths at Huangshan because we’re afraid of heights (until we weren’t); dumplings with chives for breakfast. The Yide Hotel in Pingyao and the Pig’s Inn in Xidi were perfect. It really felt we were in old China. The Ru Yi Boutique Hotel in Hangzhou showed the elegantly, modern side of China and had a fantastic restaurant. If we knew then what we know now, we would have dropped the visits to the Summer Palace, Forbidden City and Terracotta Warriors. This is entirely due to the sheer volume of other visitors.

Rating for tour operator:
Eastravel were extremely good. They helped tailored our holiday to our needs, found just the type of hotel we wanted and overall the trip went to plan and was well-organised.”  by Edinburgh Marco Polos

Indochina trip of a lifetime

“Indochina trip of a lifetime
Fabulous trip of 35 days taking in Vietnam, Cambodia, Lao, Thailand and Singapore.

Rating for tour operator:
Great communication before, during and after the trip to help plan and support our journey.”  by Phil, 12 Dec 2019

Most AMAZING honeymoon!

“Most AMAZING honeymoon!
Just come back from the holiday of a lifetime and the most amazing honeymoon! We went to Thailand for 2 weeks, starting in Bangkoh, then to Khao Lak, Elephants Hills then ended in Koh Lanta. We honestly couldn't have wished for more! We loved every minute of it!

Rating for tour operator:
Dorothy at East Travel was so helpful throughout and offered us lots of options when booking our honeymoon, to ensure everything was exactly right for us. We loved the personal service and even went into the office to meet with Dorothy to go through every thing just before we booked. We knew we wanted to go to Thailand and with Dorothy's expert advice, we were able to pin point the exact areas we wanted to visit to make the most of our 2 weeks! We were extremely happy with all of the hotels we went too, the transfers in between all went very smoothly, and we absolutely LOVED the East Travel App. It was so handy as a referral point, each morning we would wake up and have a look! Would highly recommend East Travel, and we are already in talks with them to arrange our next adventure!”  by Kayleigh Claydon , 20 Jan 2020

Panwa Boutique Beachfront Resort

“Amazing
We stayed in Panwa Boutique Beachfront Resort in Phuket, Thailand. It was a superb location & suited our needs perfectly. As a family group of 7 (grown up kids) it was far enough away from the hustle & bustle, but there was plenty to see & do nearby & just a 40min taxi ride away from the crazy night life.

Rating for tour operator:
Cathy from Eastravel was excellent. I hadn't travelled to Asia before & her advice & recommendations were invaluable. She understood our needs & arranged & booked the flights & hotel on our behalf. The hotel was beautiful & in the prefect location.”  by The Manigans 7, 15 Feb 2020

Tailor made Thailand anniversary holiday

“Tailor made Thailand anniversary holiday
2 nights in Bangkok at the Annantara hotel followed by 6 nights at the JW Marriot in Khao Lak to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

Rating for tour operator:
East Travel dealt with our requests to an exceptional level. Our transfers were perfect, the hotels had been advised it was our anniversary without our knowledge and some exceptional little touches made a huge difference to the holiday experience.”  by Alan, 25 Feb 2020

Exploring Gurajat and Rajasthan

“Great adventure wonderful sights and sounds.
Visited Gujarat and Rajasthan always enjoy India these were just two new areas of a wonderful country.

Rating for tour operator:
Nothing is ever too much trouble and I am famous for giving trouble. Dorothy and her staff have great humour and patience I feel they always have our interest at heart.”  by Draklof George, 25 Feb 2020

India Golden Triangle Tour

“Holiday of a lifetime in India
We went on a wonderful adventure in India. Started with exploring Old and New Delhi, followed by a 2 day trip to Varanasi and taking in the amazing Arti ceremony and a morning boat trip on the Ganges. We then travelled to Agra and saw the Taj Mahal- the highlight of the trip. We also went to Rajasthan and Jaipur and visited forts and places of interest and finished the trip with a 5 day stay at a beach resort near Alleppey in the south of India. We stayed in 3 star hotels which were great with really good food. Our driver and guides were really helpful and made our trip totally stress free. The internal flights with Indigo and Vistara were excellent, very nice planes with no delays.

Rating for tour operator:
Dear Dorothy John and I would like to say a huge thank you for organising our amazing trip to India. It was a trip of a lifetime. Everything went seamlessly. Our driver, Mr Singh, who was with us from Delhi airport till we left Jaipur to fly south, was absolutely brilliant. He really looked after us and we felt safe in his car despite the chaos all around!! Our hotels without exception were absolutely great. The Indian people are so nice and friendly. The Taj Mahal took our breath away and all the forts and temples were just amazing. We loved the Arti ceremony and the boat trip at the Ganges - such a special place. Abad Turtle Beach was a lovely place to end our trip. We even managed an afternoon boat trip on the backwaters which was so relaxing. Where on Earth will we go next?? India is going to take some beating. Any ideas??? My sister is thinking about a trip to Japan - do you arrange trips like ours there? Very kind regards to you and your team. Gillian x”  by Davis’s, 11 Mar 2020

Exploring Costa Rica

“Exploring Costa Rica
We toured Costa Rica with an itinerary based primarily on wildlife. We moved between five hotels and lodges, taking in the central lowlands, mountains and volcanoes, cloudforest and the coast. The hotels were all very good, and all bookings, transfers and excursions worked perfectly. Guides were knowledgable and informative, particularly in relation to wildlife. The only slight negative was that the travel between some locations was a bit much, given Costa Rica's poor roads and serious traffic problems, particularly around San Jose. Despite this, it was an excellent holiday which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Rating for tour operator:
The itinerary had been customised for us to reflect our interests , fitness, etc. We have travelled with Eastravel for several years and have got used to well planned and efficient arrangements and quality hotels etc. This trip lived up to these high standards in every respect.”  Michael and Cathy, 25 Mar 2020

India Golden Triangle Tour

“What an Experience!
What an experience. India heightens all your senses with its sights, its smells/aromas/, colour, food, and oh my goodness, the way they travel! We made memories we will never forget.

Rating for tour operator:
Eastravel and in particular Dorothy and Angela organised the whole trio amazingly well. They looked after us even before we left by organising travel, visas etc and making sure we had everything we needed before we left. The Vamoos app is also fabulous. We were met at the airport when we arrived in Delhi and from that moment on were never left to flounder on our own. Timings were spot on with tour guides and mini buses always waiting for us. We were really looked after well. The hotels were also spot on. Our guides all spoke fluent English and responded to questions and requests. Atol stands out in particular as a fabulous guide. His knowledge, humour and engagement were faultless. As was our driver, Mr Singh who was with us from Delhi until we flew out of Jaipur. His driving skills were flawless and we felt safe with him at all times. Our next driver who was also Mr Singh! (we called him The Stig!) was more erratic to say the least and we didn't feel very safe in his hands. The last few days of our trip was when Coronavirus hit the world and everywhere started to go into lockdown, including India. At this point my husband and I decided we wanted to come home a day earlier than planned and Dorothy put all the stops out to make this happen. We cannot sing her praises highly enough. Not only did she organise the whole trip very very efficiently she also looked after us while we were out there and kept us safe at all times. She was available 24/7 via Whats App and responded to our every need. Thank you Eastravel.”  by Nicola Hicks, 8 Apr 2020

Borneo Beach and Wildlife Safari

“It was due to be amazing!
Unfortunately we were unable to travel to Borneo due to the pandemic, but it was an amazing itinerary and we hope to go in the future.

Rating for tour operator:
Dorothy Heng and her team at East Travel have been brilliant in securing us a full refund of monies paid, and have been in regular contact throughout, we were due to travel early July. We could not have asked for better service, East Travel have been extremely efficient, helpful and very willing to go out of their way to arrange exactly what we asked for, we can't recommend them highly enough.”  by Hobberty, 11 Aug 2020

Golden Triangle + more

“Group of 7 on an organised tour, based around our agenda / wish list, Which was timed to co-inside with the Holi Festival. our route was Delhi - Agra - Ranthambore (tiger reserve) Jaipur (incl visits to Elefantastic & the Monkey Temple & to celebrate the Holi Festival) Udaipur - for Palaces/Temples/Lakes Aurangabad - for The Ellora Caves (unfortunately - we were unable to go to The Ajanta Caves - due to India Government closing all attractions due to the Corona Virus ) Then internal flight to Mumbai for our flight home.

Rating for tour operator:
Had previously been on a group trip to China with Eastravel, Ipswich - as that was so well organised, we contacted Dorothy again, to arrange our Indian adventure. Everything was again superb, great hotels/guides/transfers -perfect However, you only get to see how good a company is, is when things don't go so well! Firstly, we all meet up to check in for our Flight - had problems...……….. Dorothy, to the rescue! (late one evening) Secondly - CORONA VIRUS - flight home cancelled by BA …… Dorothy to the rescue AGAIN! Worked overtime to get us all home on alternative flights (incl. finding us hotel rooms at Mumbai Airport - so that we didn't have to wait 16hrs at the airport) Will certainly be using EASTRAVEL for our next big trip.”  Leay Tours 25 April 2020

Jogya and Bali Honeymoon

“Rating for this holiday Excellent
Using Eastravel as our agent was the best decision we made. Not only did they come in at around £2,000 cheaper than Thomas Cook and Thomson, they also facilitated private tours in Java and Bali, private transfers to each and every destination as well as selecting the very best hotels regardless of budget. This was a special trip for us, what with it being our honeymoon, and for that we will always be grateful for their efforts.

Panorama we're great from the outset. Literally. It was hard to miss them in their very bright shirts at the airport! We had one particular guide called Agus who went to great lengths to show us everything there was to see in Yogyakarta including introducing us to friends of his who had suggestions of places to see and things to do in our spare time. Although we told people we were going to Bali for our honeymoon, it was the stint in Java that has resonated most with us as it was just such a pleasure and a surprise to be immersed in a drastically different culture - I don't think it would've been as hard-hitting if it hadn't been for Agus' knowledge of the area and his passion for Javanese culture and values.”  Danielle Forbes and Christopher Wright

A tour of Southern India

“We have just returned from a 16-day touring holiday of southern India starting our adventure in Bangalore. We then travelled to Mysore, Nagarhole, Ooty, Cochin, the backwaters at Allepey and finished on the beach in Kovalam. We covered some 1,400 Kms and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We experienced everything from the Maharaja's palace in Mysore to tiger spotting in Nagarhole, to Ooty a beautiful hill station, tea plantations, a silk sari factory and at the end a lovely hotel in Kovalam to relax in before coming home. The food was wonderful and the local people quite delightful. All in all a great experience.
Rating for tour operator Excellent
We have been using Eastravel for a number of years now and have always been very pleased with the service that Dorothy and her team provide. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they always go the extra mile to ensure our holidays run smoothly. We would have no hesitation in recommending them.”  Lynn and Danny Lachs

Zambia Safari with Victoria Falls

“The Zambian holiday was fantastic. We saw all the animals we wanted to especially the Leopards, several times and close up. 

The selected camps were great and suited us well. Throughout the people very exceptionally helpful and friendly. The Robin Pope camps were probably the tightest managed and South Luangwa the best park for seeing lots of animals. Chongwe River is a fabulous location, the management not quite as tight, but nice people and the water activities great. Tongabesi is again a great location, nice and relaxing, very helpful staff and the trips to Vic Falls wonderful, the large private space for each room was exactly what we wanted for a bit of a rest at the end. If I was being picky you could say Tongabesi is becoming a little run down, but nothing that bothered us and the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff was great.

All the arrangements, connections, flights transfers etc worked faultlessly throuhout.”  Dave

Truly excellent trip to the Seychelles

“Two stop trip to the Seychelles incorporating a stay on Praslin and Mahe. Fantastic hotels, scenery and food to match.

Excellent service from start to finish. All flights, hotels and trasnfers were left to Eastravel and the whole thing was faultless.”  Mr A V 14

Tanzanian Safari

“Our wish was to see as much wildlife as possible during a 9 day visit to Tanzania. We stayed in 3 lodges in different areas and each had great charm and interest.

We have used Eastravel for over 20 years now and are always happy with their recommendations, particularly when we are travelling to a destination for the very first time.”  Chris

Amazing from booking to arriving home

“We stayed at the Sunset Palms in Jamaica, Negril. The holiday was simply amazing! Eastravel made it stress free and straightforward for us.

The rooms we spectacular and the balcony served us well for quite a few sunsets. The mini bar is stocked up with whatever you want daily and the gardener brings you fresh coconuts to the balcony. The staff couldn’t help anymore and the food was amazing. Te walk to the beach is 2 minutes max and you are escorted the whole way by the security guards. The beach food was great, the shops along the front were brilliant and anyone who complains about the workers trying to sell you stuff has far too much time on their hands! As soon as we said “we are ok thank you” they nod, wish you a good day and walk on. There was difference night entertainment every evening. 

We did quite a few excursions but we used the local taxi drivers mainly. They gave a much better price than the hotel itself and they would always take us to local jerk huts and give a more honest tour guide speech! We did one trip through the hotel and it was without fault, just a bit more pricey than the locals. All in all, it was a very memorable holiday.

Eastravel are very easy to talk to. I think we changed our mind about destination and hotel 4-5 times but each time, it was never too much hassle for them. We dealt with Cathy who was extremely personable and searched high and low for the best deal possible for us and always went the extra mile to meet our requirements.”  Sunset Palms Negril - Eastravel

Magnificent Myanmar

“Myanmar is a most beautiful country to visit. So much to see and experience from hot and sticky Yangon and Mandalay to the cooler hill retreats of Hsipaw and Kalaw. We explored the temples of Bagan by bicycle and E-bike, hired a boat for the day at Inle Lake, trekking from Kalaw to list just a few activities. Three weeks just wasn't long enough.

Dorothy and Angela at Eastravel were most helpful in creating a varied and interesting tailor-made itinerary. Their response was professional and efficient. My requests for small hotels and transfers by boat and train were happily accommodated. I would have no hesitation in recommending their services.”  BambooPanda

Off the beaten track in Northern Laos

“We wanted a touring holiday visiting the villages of the ethnic people & to see their every day work & lifestyles without the obligatry tourist outlets of imported goods.
East travel arranged for Indo China Services to provide a guide & transport. Our guide understood our requirements precisely & took us to places where we watched a man casting aluminum propeller blades from broken motor bike wheels & another a fishing spear gun from an old umbrella. These were only two items in two weeks of fascinating discoveries.The organization was flawless even though both guide & driver had to contend with minor hiccups such as two major landslip road closures in the mountains.”  Bellamy

Myanmar and Thailand 2014

“Dear Dorothy,
Just to let you know that we are back from our wonderful holiday.

Everything seemed to work very well and we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and Myanmar lived up to expectations. The first two days in Yangon were very interesting but the crowds at the Shwedagon Pagoda were unbelievable. It was however very impressive. We enjoyed our trishaw ride on the second day and it was interesting to see the other side of the river on a very crowded local ferry. Our guide in Yangon was probably the best we had and she was delightful.

Bagan was very impressive but we had to change the arrangements to travel by minibus instead of bicycle. There was no way that we were all going to be able to manage this! My only complaint was the food in the hotel which was not good. However the rest of them did not agree with me! It was a beautiful hotel but very pretentious in my view - possibly because Obama was due to visit! The excursion to Mount Popa was very interesting and also a chance to see the countryside and the manufacture of all the products from the palm tree. We did not consider the balloon flight when we planned the holiday. I am sure this would have been good but very expensive!

The cruise to Mandalay was truly magnificent and was one of the main highlights of the holiday. The service and food were impeccable and it was very relaxing to watch the world go by. We were actually on the Paukan 1947, which is a beautifully renovated boat built by Yarrow Shipbuilders in Scotland,and not Paukan 2007. I think we had the better deal!

Mandalay was very interesting. We had an initial problem with the hotel with the room allocated to us which was was in a dark corner. However they were very helpful and changed this without question. They also found a missing empty canvas bag which we could not find when we left the hotel and got it back to us in Heho through ICS - very impressive service! The visits were interesting but I did not enjoy the visit to the monastery to see hundreds of monks being fed. The river trip to Mingun was interesting and the site very impressive. Pyin o Lwin was something of a time-warp from the colonial era but the market was very vibrant. The botanical gardens were quite spectacular.

Lake Inle was a wonderful experience with a fantastic hotel but we did not have a lake view as promised but the rooms were fine. We thoroughly enjoyed the boat trips and also the day of leisure which Angie and I used for a visit to the Red Mountain vineyard on bicycles. We collectively drank more of their Sauvignon Blanc than you can possibly imagine during our holiday and found it to be very good value.

The last three days at Ngapali were most enjoyable and restful. It is a beautiful place and excellent hotel. We did however have to get our room changed as they put us right at the back of the hotel a long way from the sea in a very poor room (number 041) to start with. The italian manager was most helpful but ICS should be made aware that the initial room was not satisfactory and not ‘deluxe’ in our view.

All internal flights in Myanmar were quite good but the terminals are chaotic and they are strict on size of hand luggage. This is smaller than on international flights. We fell foul of this on the Yangon to Bagan flight. Thank you very much for the lunch in Yangon on our way to Bangkok. It was a very special place.

Bangkok was OK and a charming boutique hotel which is vegetarian and run by a rather eccentric englishman who was very interesting. The Bridge on the River Kwai was very atmospheric as was the war cemetery. The museum was also very interesting.

The traffic in Thailand has to be seen to be believed and it took us nearly two hours to get across town to the Oriental for dinner on the last evening. However the banquet was very special and the dancing very impressive.

It all seems rather drab and dreary now that we are home but we have some very happy memories and lots of pictures!!! The holiday was arranged by Dorothy Heng at East Travel in Ipswich (www.eastravel.co.uk). They were excellent. ”  Will

Only one word sums it up 'Stunning'!

“We travelled to Beijing to explore this fascinating city. We marvelled and took in the wonders of the Great Wall of China. We flew to Xian to see the exquisite detail of the Terracotta Warriors. From Tianjin Port we boarded the Sapphire Princess for a wonderful 17 day Grand Asian cruise. We visited six countries including dazzling Hong Kong before leaving the ship in Singapore. Here we experienced the famous 'Singapore Sling' at the Raffles Hotel and ate at the romantic Ku de Ta restaurant at the top of its highest building. We flew to Dubai and took in the stunning view at the top of the Burj Khalifa and finally, flew to Qatar to spend a relaxing week catching up with my daughter before sadly heading home. This was a holiday of a lifetime and one that will always stay with us.

We could not of done this trip without Dorothy and her team at Eastravel in Ipswich. Dorothy's knowledge of this part of the world proved invaluable. When planning the holiday she guided us through the many possibilities with expertise and patience! It seemed as though we were her only client. By the time we had our itinerary and tickets in our hands, I felt we had made a true friend. One I wanted to take with us, as how could we cope without her! All visas, flights, hotels, limousines, guides and trips arranged worked without one hitch. Thank you so much Dorothy and her wonderful team at Eastravel, we will be back.”  Susie W, Kirton, Suffolk

Utterly awesome - wonderful hotels, excellent people and inspiring things to see and do

“We travelled to Bangkok and Myanmar. Within Myanmar, Eastravel arranged a perfect itinerary for us. The hotels were very centrally located and allowed us easy access to the places we were visiting. We like to travel independently and not feel restricted and in this respect we were utterly delighted. The hotels were comfortable and often boutique in style which suited us perfectly. The places Eastravel recommended for us to visit were excellent and provide a fine balance between days spent indulging in culture and history with relaxation whether that was in the form of a meander through markets or a lazy day on the beach.

We have built an excellent relationship with Eastravel over the years and always turn to them for help whenever we are planning to travel East from the UK. They understand our requirements and offer a tailored solution. We work together to form a trip that goes way beyond the packages that most other operators offer. What's more, whenever I've needed to call on Eastravel's support whilst I've been away, they have been absolutely amazing in their response. I highly recommend their service.”  Maz

A creative itinerary though Myanmar

“For the first week we travelled through the south of Myanmar, based at Moulmein and Hpa-An, getting between the two places by boat up the Salween river.

Then back to Yangon and an internal flight to Bagan, then up the Ayerawaddy to Mandalay. Side excursions from both these bases included Mount Popa and Pyin Oo Lwin. A flight to Heho and a night at Kalaw was followed by a two day trek ending at Inle Lake, Then a flight to Thandwe and four nights at Ngapali Beach.

As well as learning so much about the country, and finding people very easy to talk with, we explored by water and on foot, snorkelled, caved, and most memorably ate a lot of wonderful Burmese food. We didn't know what to expect - it is a relaxed, friendly and safe place, exotic and unspoiled.

Lots of consultation ensured that our personal tastes for accommodation and programme were met. We knew next to nothing about Myanmar when we planned the holiday, and when we arrived we realised how well Dorothy had done in her choices for us. The local tour operator was obviously an excellent choice as our guides were a lot more informative and capable than those with other travellers. It was a complicated itinerary but it was all arranged very efficiently. The only slight hitch, where one item of our luggage didn't arrive, was speedily resolved without our having to do anything. Full marks to Eastravel.”  Fiona

Another Eastravel Triumph

“We have used Eastravel for many years and their handling of queries and attention to even the smallest detail is superb. Eastravel put a great deal of effort and expertise into helping us plan our itinerary and their input is invaluable. The accuracy and presentation and reliability a of all documentation cannot be faulted. The quality of all the accommodation is excellent. We find that Eastravel provide not only excellent value for money but a truly exceptional personal service. All our trips have definitely met if not exceed our expectations. Memorable experiences are numerous but we especially cherish the time we spend with the many friends we have met on our travels. Eastravel offer an exceptional personal service that is second to none.”  LIBBY B

Perfect experience

“Eastravel as usual came up trumps. Brilliant flights and perfect ground arrangements. Despite this being a quite short trip to S. Africa it was made so easy and relaxing staying at some elegant lodges along the way. Could not have been bettered especially and very good value. Really excellent selection of lodges along the way and our driver/guide was knowledgeable and top rank. Experience counts.”  SA perfect

India holiday Dehli, Agra Taj Mahal, Goa

“Hotels in all three places were first class, as were all our guided tours. 10 days at Park Hyatt Goa could not have been better... set in beautiful gardens and beach. Golf buggies to take you around if you were feeling lazy. Staff and management could not do enough for you. One morning standing in the lobby looking troubled, trying to decide whether or not to go to the barbers shop 150 mtrs outside the hotel. The duty manager insisted that one of the boys go with me. and bring me back. We left the actual planning of the holiday to our travel agent Eastravel They did a great job We could not have done better ourselves. Eastravel produced a great and memorable trip for us. Thank you.”  W W T

Wonderful 3 days in Sabah

“We were met by our excellent guide in Sandakan and spent one night on Selingan Island seeing the conservation work being carried out to save the turtles and we were lucky enough to see a nesting turtle. We then spent 2 nights at Sukau Rainforest Lodge which is a wonderful place and all the staff were extremely knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. We were again very lucky and saw plenty of wildlife including several orang utans and elephants, not to mention plenty of birds, monkeys and crocodiles.

East Travel were very helpful with their suggestions for our short stay in Sabah, we could not have been better looked after and everything went very smoothly. Everyone concerned, both at East and in Sabah, was knowledgeable and friendly.”  Primula

Excellent experience!

“We have been dealing with Eastravel for many years for our Far East holidays. We travelled to Singapore for 2 nights before embarking to Miri in Sarawak, East Malaysia. We were in Miri for Chinese New Year with our families and friends. Whilst in Miri, we went to Lambir waterfall and Batu Niah caves. From Miri we spent one night in KL and went to the Petrinas twin towers and met up with some relatives.

We had one week in Koh Chang island in Thailand. It was a lovely island, not too commercialised yet but there are quite a selection of bars restaurants and street stalls. The White sand beach is lovely. We went on a boat trip which was fun. We went on an elephant trekking which was interesting and exciting. We loved the elephants. 

Our whole trip and itinerary was spot on and fawless. The flights, hotels and transportation were as what we wanted and Eastravel made it happened. The staff are knowledgeable about the Far East and range of hotels. Their prices are realistic and competitive with the service and experience they bring. 

We are happy with the service that Eastravel provides and we would recommend anyone to them for their travel arrangements to the Far East. Knowledgeable, professional, helpful and accommodating. Eastravel is reliable and delivers your ideal holiday arrangements.”  Anne and Rob, Cheshire

Middle & Far East tour with 61 Night Cruise

“We used excellent hotels recommended by Eastravel both pre and post cruise. Our cruise was a new adventure visiting India, Burma, Malaysia, Indonesia, Philippines, Japan, China, South Korea, Vietnam, Cambodia and Thailand, was very good and can be recommended to visit.

Eastravel did an excellent job of sorting out our hotels.A hotel change was made by Eastravel prior to travel to Dubai due to building work being ongoing. New recommended hotel was great. Eastravel secured very good costs of flights with Emirates airlines.”  rogwhit

Fantastic family holiday in Vietnam

“We started our holiday in Ho Chi Minh and spent 3 days experiencing the culture, cuisine and people this fantastic city offers. We had a guide Quan who was so nice, helpful and informative that we learnt so much more than any guide book would tell you. We then flew to Hue and spent 3 days here with our guide Dan who again was lovely, helpful and informative. We visited the last emperors palace, temples and craft villages. We packed so much into our 3 days. Hue is Very different to Saigon and equally beautiful. We then drove to Hoi An for a 7 night beach break which is totally stunning and exactly what we needed before we returned to work. Hoi An is a heritage town and the architecture and street scene are stunning. The people are so friendly and welcoming we loved this part of our holiday and did an Vietnamese masterclass with a local restaurant which was an amazing experience.

We booked through Eastravel as when I made enquiries they were the most prompt and attentive to our requirements. We had never been to Vietnam before and Cathy was very helpful in understanding what we wanted to get out of our holiday and tailoring an itinerary to match. A few weeks before we were due to travel Vietnam airlines changed their airport base so that we would fly from Gatwick but return to Heathrow. Dorothy at Eastravel was brilliant in organising us a taxi from Heathrow so that we would land where we had parked our car. I would, without hesitation book with Eastravel again.”  Milliemooch

Best holiday ever

“Spent 3 nights at the fantastic Anantara Riverside resort Bangkok where we are given a room upgrade. Easy to get around thanks to the inclusive ferry 8 nights at Jamahkiri resort in Koh Tao the most immaculately clean and picturesque hotel with private beach and super snorkelling. The transfers arranged with Asia Travel went perfectly a great holiday thanks to Eastravel in Ipswich. The professional advice from Cathy at Eastravel helped us to enjoy our best holiday ever.”  Sheleon

Excellent planning

“Arrangements were made to travel to Moscow, board the Trans-Siberian Express and onward to Vladivostok. Special arrangements were made to visit Museums usually closed on the day of our visit and also to a new museum yet to open !! These were railway museums. All in all a great time, Pullman class service on Pullman class coaches. Only let down was lack of steam locomotive which unfortunately broke down... no one's at fault. We always put our trust in Eastravel. Train operated by Golden Eagle, excellent arrangements on the whole, the trip went as planned on a daily basis.”  Geoff The Train

An extremely enjoyable experience

“East Travel were very good and answered all my questions prior to the holiday. We were met at every junction by Blue Horizon who were very accommodating with anything we wanted to do or change. Ocean Vida in Malapascua was beautiful and we had a very enjoyable rest. We returned to Cebu City where we gained a new daughter in law. Following the wedding we travelled to Bantayan Island and the Anika. I would not recommend this resort. For lots of reasons too numerous to mention here. I have however, put a detailed review on trip advisor. We did not allow it to ruin our holiday we just did our eating and drinking elsewhere and used the Anika as a base to sleep. It was just unfortunate that the anika . was the resort chosen by. Newly weds for their honeymoon. Both East Travel and Blue Horizon were excellent.”  Tarty

A fantastic mix of culture, recreation and rest

“Two weeks visiting the Baltic capitals of Vilnius, Riga and Tallin. We stayed near the centre of each city and explored in our own time, balancing culture with R&R.

Eastravel has been our preferred tour operator for several years. They understand how to piece together a bespoke itinerary for us and are happy to be flexible. They offer excellent service, including an out of hours service which is exemplary. I would have no hesitation in recommending them to anyone.”  Maz

Excellent trip to Canada

“The main purpose was to travel on the Rocky Mountaineer train, Vancouver to Banff, which was first class. The rest of the time was spent visiting local areas, all very nice. I have used Eastravel four times now and have always found them to be 'on the ball'. Everything they have arranged for me has worked exactly as it should.”  Titus Oates

Planned to Perfection by Dorothy (the magician) from Eastravel

“We had the most amazing adventure on our three week jaunt around the Far East. Taking in Hong Kong, Xi'an, Beijing, Shanghai, Tokyo and Kyoto.

We travelled as a family of four with a seven year old and a fifteen year old. The whole trip was perfect for all of our needs and was so carefully crafted by Dorothy. Dorothy knew just where we'd manage on our own and where we'd need a driver and guide. She surpassed our expectations and everything ran like clockwork.
Hong Kong was amazing, our hotel was a great choice and the tickets we'd booked last minute were waiting for us on arrival, with the hotel reception. In China, we would have been totally lost if it hadn't been for the fabulous guides and drivers who made us feel like well cared for celebrities, catering for our every whim (even when my husband and 7 year old had a craving for a western treat in McDonalds!).

The language barrier in China was much harder than I imagined it would be, so having the guides made life unbelievably simple and ensured that we saw as much of the country as possible without tickets and transportation all taken care of.

We had an amazing time in China, the holiday surpassed our expectations in every way.
When in Japan, we loved the hotel choices again and were especially pleased with the last minute diversion (forced by a bit of volcanic activity in Hakone) to Disneyland Tokyo. not my husband's choice but certainly one the children LOVED. This made the last leg of our trip all the more fun because it brought the children something familiar in a place which was so different from life in the west. Brilliant hotel choice and perfectly arranged travel again.

The whole trip had an amazing itinerary, we felt that Dorothy was pretty much there with us the whole time. During the 8 months of planning the trip she regularly emailed to update us, checked with us about options, answered our every query, no matter how trivial it seemed to us and amended things right up to the last minute to ensure that it was perfect. This has been the best holiday of our lives - by far! Thank you Dorothy and the team at Eastravel.”  Mrs c B 15